Memories of a time long ago…

Posted: March 24, 2013 in Uncategorized

” I was standing in my grandmother’s bedroom watching the small black and white television set on top of her chest of drawers.  I was seven years old.

Many folks remember exactly where they were when the news of John F. Kennedy’s assassination was broadcast on every channel of every network.

The phone rang.  It was my uncle Wayland calling from Dallas.  All of my father’s side of the family lived in either Dallas, Fort Worth or Grand Prarie.  Uncle Wayland had been there and had been filming the procession directly across from the “grassy knoll” and kitty-corner to the book depository.  He told my father…

“Lynn, I was filming the procession when all hell broke loose.  There was [sic] shots, not sure how many, people running and shouting..then suddenly there was this guy in a suit and tie, wearing sunglasses, in my face and flashing an FBI badge.  He said, “I have to confiscate your motion picture camera.”  He then took my camera and was gone.”

A couple weeks later there was another “tinny sounding echo” call from uncle Wayland.  He said he had patched in from his ham radio rig.

“I think I’m being followed and I think my phone’s been bugged.  I tried getting my camera back from the FBI, but all I got was a lot of stalling.  They wanted me to answer a list of questions about what I’d seen and heard and I said, “Nothing doing unless I get my camera back.”  Then I was made to wait for an hour or more and finally a suit showed me the door.  

“So I guess this means I’m not getting my camera back?”  

“See this lady and she will give you a generous voucher for your camera.”

End of story…case closed.

As a kid, nothing much about this scenario registered.  But years later having watched a documentary film of the Kennedy assassination on college campus, it became highly suspicious to me how the FBI closed in on my uncle so quickly after JFK had been shot…It was as if my uncle had already been identified in a crowd of hundreds…thousands???…identified as a person with a movie camera, a device that could potentially record any illegal or clandestine activity by the United States government, thereby damaging their reputation.

Well, the U.S. government must think they’re smarter than John Q. Public since their cover-ups were / are always falling short.  Experts in the fields of ballistics, ex-Nasa technical advisors who disprove the likelyhood of space travel to the moon, ex-government high-ranking officials-turned-whistle-blowers and just obvious evidence or a lack thereof, which left the accusing finger pointing at the White House.

 

Leave a Reply

